Indoor Track


Tease photo

West Potomac Seniors Underwood, McHugh to Compete in College Athletics

West Potomac seniors Sarah Jane Underwood and Danielle McHugh signed National Letters of Intent to continue their athletic careers at the collegiate level. Underwood, a standout cross country and track athlete, will run for Penn State University and McHugh will play softball at Tennessee Tech.

Indoor Track Season Wraps Up at State Meet

Local Northern Region athletes compete in Hampton.

A number of local athletes put together strong showings at last weekend’s Virginia State AAA Indoor Track and Field Championships, held Friday and Saturday (Feb. 24-25) at the Boo Williams Sportsplex in Hampton. On the boys’ side, Westfield High finished third overall and was the top finisher from out of the Northern Region. The Bulldogs finished with 27 team points. The team champion was Western Branch (48) of Chesapeake, a member of the Eastern Region. Finishing second was Grassfield (34 points) of Chesapeake.

Tease photo

Sports Briefs: TC Garners All-State Indoor Track Honors

The T.C. Williams indoor track and field team earned four all-state awards and broke two school records during the state championships on Feb. 24-25 in Hampton.

Tease photo

TC Wins Titles at Northern Region Indoor Track Meet

Jonathan Anderson won the shot put championship, Devon Cooper captured the long jump title and the 4x400 relay team of Kathryn Hendley, Morgan Lataillade, Sydney Schaedel and Shannon Smythe finished first, highlighting the T.C. Williams indoor track team’s performance at the Northern Region meet on Feb. 17-18 at George Mason University.

District Indoor Track and Field Championships Underway

Chantilly, Centreville, and Westfield all set for second day Concorde action on Thursday.

The Concorde District Indoor Track and Field Championships got underway last Thursday, Jan. 26 with Day One action at the Prince George’s County Sportsplex in Maryland. Local teams Centreville, Westfield, and Chantilly High Schools made up three of the six participating schools at the postseason event.